CVQO Westminster Award 2019 finalists announced

CVQO Westminster Award 2019 finalists announced

19 June 2019

  • National

Congratulations to the three Army Cadets who were among the ten cadets shortlisted as finalists in the Westminster Award.

A group of 40 cadets made it through to the residential selection event in Somerset and they all have hugely promising futures ahead of them.

The CVQO Westminster Award has been going now for 17 years and it recognises those CVQO cadets who have consistently demonstrated an exceptional level of commitment, not only to the cadet services but to society in general.

The ten finalists will all be invited to the CVQO Westminster Award Ceremony at the House of Lords at the end of June (when the overall winner will be announced) and all ten will visit South Africa for an educational expedition in July.

This year’s group of finalists, in alphabetical order, are:

Ruta Dubinskaite Middlesex & NW London Army Cadet Force

Chlöe Edwards Shropshire Army Cadet Force

Joe Evenden Loughborough Grammar School CCF (Army)

Alfie Green London Fire Brigade

Yasmin Grizzle City of London & NE Sector Army Cadet Force

Elle Hakesley Wolverhampton Sea Cadet Corps

Ben Hunter 1461 (Wigston & District) Squadron RAF Air Cadets

Mitri Sharaiha St John Cymru Wales

Kacie Simmons 54 (Eastbourne) Squadron RAF Air Cadets

Baljodh Singh Holly Lodge CCF (Army)