Four Army Cadets honoured with The Diana Award

11 July 2018

Four Army Cadets from across Great Britain were named as recipients of The Diana Award 2018.

Jodie Standen (1st Btn The Highlanders ACF), Amanda Logan (Glasgow and Lanarkshire Btn ACF), Jessica Tappenden-Rowell (Yorkshire North and West ACF) and Amy Lee (Middlesex and North West London ACF) were all named when the Roll of Honour for 2018 was released on Princess Diana’s birthday. All four were nominated due to their hard work and dedication to charity work, the support they give to younger cadets within their detachments and overcoming personal challenges.

“We are delighted to announce our Roll of Honour on Princess Diana’s birthday as we shine a spotlight on her legacy over 20 years on,” said Tessy Ojo, CEO of The Diana Award. “Today we celebrate young people for their selfless contribution to society, their courage and bravery, sometimes in the face of adversity.”

The awards honour exceptional young people who have demonstrated their ability to inspire and mobilise new generations and serve their communities through campaigning, volunteering, fundraising, tackling bullying or overcoming extreme life challenges.

Candidates for the award have to be put forward by adults who know them in a professional capacity. To be selected for the Award candidates have to demonstrate an impact on society in one or more key areas: Vision, Social Impact, Inspiring Others, Youth Leadership and Service Journey.

This year, nearly 600 inspirational children and teens, from across the UK and around the world were named as recipients. All have had a monumental impact on society and lives of those in their communities.

Although their causes and backgrounds are varied, they are all changing their communities and the world as Princess Diana believed they could.

Nominations are now open for the 2019 awards and has been extended to include young people aged 19-25. Nominations for the Diana Award should be made by commandants.