ACF Band Give First Class Performance

27 October 2017

On 20th September the cadet band of E (The Rifles) Company Minden Bugles and Drums of Yorkshire North & West Army Cadet Force mustered at Minden House, Pontefract to take part in their annual music competition.

Judging the competition this year was Major Neil Patton, Officer Commanding E Company, Captain Graham Wood, E Company, Serjeant (Sjt) Mary Hood,E Company, Major (Retd) David Jarratt, KOYLI Association, Bugle Major Steven Martin, Army School of Ceremonial and Sjt Steven Long, Army School of Ceremonial.

The cadets were being judged in three separate areas, Drill, Turnout and Musicality.  All the judges had a sharp eye for detail and took their time meticulously inspecting each cadet, from cap to boots and even instruments.  Each cadet had to perform a drill sequence, which included changing to a slow march, salutes and addressing the senior officer Major Patton before marching off the parade square. Finally, the cadets were tested on their musicality. They had each decided on a piece of music and played it to the judges.  The music chosen ranged from Highland Cathedral to The Last Post, on their respective instruments.

At the end of the night all the scores were added up and the winners were announced. Receiving the prizes this year were Cadet (Cdt) Corporal Evan Kear, Cdt Lance Corporal Katie Lofthouse, Cdt Lance Corporal Jamie Lofthouse and Cdt Patrick Rees.  The Bugle Major from the Army School of Ceremonial was very impressed with the high standard of all the Band and congratulated everyone on their outstanding effort.

Major Neil Patton said “I feel extremely proud to be here tonight and to have witnessed such perfection and dedication from E Company Cadets”.

Two weeks later a presentation was held at E Company Headquarters in Wakefield where the band gathered along with proud parents and the Deputy Lord Lieutenant Major David Wroe, who presented trophies and cash prizes to the winners and runners up.

The organiser of the competition, Bugle Major Sjt Craig Rosser said “Many congratulations to the winners. I’m extremely proud of all the cadets who took part. They are great example to the whole of E Company”. 

Photo from left to right shows:

Back Row
Cpl Evan Kear, Cdt Patrick Rees, LCpl Morgan Whitehouse, LCpl Katie Lofthouse, Cpl Lauren Leigh, Cdt Zac Chatfield and LCpl Jamie Lofthouse

Front Row
Bugle Major Steven Martin, Major (Retired) David Jarratt and Sjt Steven Long

Submitted by Sgt Mary Hood