About Our County

Nottinghamshire Army Cadet Force has over 850 cadets and 170 adult volunteers in 30 detachments right across the county. For details of all the key personnel in the county, check out the downloadable organisation chart for Nottinghamshire ACF.

Units in our County wear 6 different capbadges. The details of which can be found in the links to the left.

All Cadets, Adult Instructors and Officers in our County wear a flash (or badge) on their uniform depicting the Sherwood Forrest Major Oak Tree. This flash takes inspiration from the Formation Sign worn by members of the 46th (North Midland) Divison in The Great War and the 46th Infrantry Divison in The Second World War.

The 29 detachments are organised into four sub units as follows:

A Company (The Rifles) has its headquarters at the Wigman Road TA Centre in Bilborough. There are 8 detachments of The Rifles in and around the City of Nottingham.

B (Mercian) Company is the most northerly unit of the County ACF with its headquarters at Retford. There are 7 detachments in the Company.

C (South Nottinghamshire Hussars) Battery Headquarters is located at the TA Centre at Bulwell. There are 7 detachments in the Battery mainly in the area of Mansfield.

D (Sherwood Rangers Yeomanry) Squadron consisting of 7 detachments to the eastern side of the County has its headquarters at the Drill Hall in Southwell.

All detachments in the County parade between 1900 and 2100 hours on two evenings each week.