B Squadron

B Squadron currently consists of eight troops and a small band and is spread across the south of Leicester and the South West of the County of Leicestershire.

The first written records we find for units that are now part of B Sqn go back to 27 July 1923 when cadets from 1st Cadet Battalion, The Leicestershire Regiment (Lutterworth Grammar School detachment) were part of the Northern Battalion on a nationally organised tour of the WWI Battlefields of France.

During WWII there was a massive expansion of the ACF across the country and Leicestershire was not exempt. At one stage in the 1960’s there were three detachments parading at Brentwood Rd (Leicestershire Regiment, LDY and RASC). In 1968 the cadet units in Leicestershire & Rutland ACF and Northamptonshire ACF were amalgamated to form the Royal Anglian ACF and B Company was formed.

On 9th September 1971, B Company were granted a unique honour when the Leicester Branch of the “Old Contemptibles’ Association” presented them with their Queen’s Colour (Union Flag) as they were no longer able to parade it. This Colour is paraded by B Sqn each year on Remembrance Sunday in their memory.

On Sunday 17th October 1982 B Squadron formally came into existence. In the presence of Major General J M Brockbank CBE MC, DL, Colonel of the 9th/12th Royal Lancers (Prince of Wales’s) 130 cadets paraded at Glen Parva Barracks and were rebadged from Royal Anglian to 9th/12 Royal Lancers.

In 1984 B Squadron lost two Troops (Coalville and Ashby) to help form the newly created F Squadron, but soon expanded again to replace those units; the most recent being Dixie Troop and in 2010 we re-launched a Band within B Squadron. This band differs from others within the County as it is a symphonic wind band rather than a Corps of Drums.