Z Coy, Overton Pl Holds Annual Enrolment and Awards Ceremony

30 January 2018

This week saw 4 Platoon Overton hold their world famous annual awards and enrolment ceremony at Testbourne Community School, Whitchurch.

With over 30 cadets in attendance with proud parents and family looking on, the event was also joined by distinguished guests,

Lt Col Rodger Mills – Deputy Commandant, Hants ACF

Maj Tim Hope – OC, Z Company

Maj Mark Christian – Padre, Hants ACF

Lt Col (Retd) Andy Jones – Whitchurch RBL Branch Secretary

David Old – Whitchurch Branch Chairman

The proceedings began with the Detachment Commander 2/Lt Steve Slack welcome everyone and then give a short presentation on what the ACF is all about. A banner party then paraded with the new Detachment Standard dedicated and blessed by the padre.

The new recruits being enrolled into the Detachment came to the front in their respective Detachment squads and made their cadet promise and awarded their RBL affiliation badge, given by Major Tim Hope.

After a short interval, presentations and the Detachment Annual Awards were the next course of business, and we congratulate;

Detachment Commander’s Award – Sgt Ben Robinson

NCO Of The Year – Cpl Jack Targett

Commitment Award – Cdt Leon Chappell

Best Shot – L/Cpl Euan Williams

Best Progression – Cdt Louise Etheridge

RBL Community Shield – Cdt Meg King

Cadet Of The Year – Cdt Bruno Zarecky

Special mention also goes to 4 Section for winning the yearly Detachment Section Competition!

The closing address was then given by Major Tim Hope.