High Sheriff presents awards

14 May 2019

The High Sheriff His Honour Neil McKittrick DL presented cadets and instructors awards at a presentation evening held at Waterbeach on Monday 13th May. Cadets and instructors are awarded these for their hard work as well as outstanding achievements and saving members of the public's lives.

The first presentation was for the high Sheriff awards, these were awarded to :- Cadet Sgt Caitlin Hillier, Walton Detachment, Cadet SSgt Sam Kidd, Longstanton Detachment, Cadet Cpl Andrew Kilgallen, Fletton Detachment, and Cadet SSgt Drew McLean from Cambridge Detachment.

The next presentations that were awarded were for the Duke of Edinburgh Bronze award, this was awarded to :- Kayleigh Brooks, Wisbech Detachment, Ryan Clowes, Waterbeach Detachment, Joseph Else, Wisbech Detachment, Conor Herbert, Cambourne Detachment, Oscar Seymour, Ely Detachment and Erin Williams also from Cambourne Detachment.

The next award was presented to Troy Edkins on completion of his Silver Duke of Edinburgh award.

A number of cadets were presented their 4 star badges upon completion of their 4 star level these consisted of :- Cadet Sgt Tyler Banks, Ramsey Detachment, Cadet Sgt Max Davis, Cambridge Regional College, Cadet Sgt Caitlin Hillier, Walton Detachment, Cadet Sgt Tom Kite, St Neots detachment, Cadet SSgt Arturs Polescuks, Huntingdon Detachment, Cadet Sgt Bart Tuffee, Chatteris Detachment, Cadet SSgt Jade Vaughan, Fletton Detachment, and finally Cadet Cpl Kieran Wilde from Chatteris Detachment.

Master Cadet certificates and badges were awarded to Cadet SSgt Richard Lynch from Cambourne detachment and Cadet SSgt Drew McLean from Cambridge Detachment.

Cambridgeshire army cadet force over the last few years has been outstanding with awarding cadets BTec level 2 Diplomas in Teamwork and Personal Development within the Community. These awards were presented to Cadet Sgt Ryan Clowes, Waterbeach detachment, Troy Edkins, Ely Detachment, Thomas Grainge, Yaxley Detachment, Cadet Sgt Billy Gray, Yaxley detachment, Cadet Cpl Thomas Herrington, March Detachment, Cadet SSgt Sam Kidd, Longstanton Detachment, Cadet Cpl Andrew Kilgallen, Fletton Detachment, William Kirby, Talavera Detachment, Cadet SSgt Richard Lynch, Cambourne Detachment, Cadet SSgt Drew McLean, Cambridge Detachment, Cadet Sgt Sean Murphy, Yaxley Detachment, Cadet SSgt Eleanor Phipps, Huntingdon Detachment, Cadet Cpl Kit Rose, Haddenham Detachment and finally Cadet SSgt Jade Vaughan from Fletton Detachment.

Two new awards were issued to a cadet and adult instructor for their bravery whilst dealing with a first aid incident they came across. The first was the ACFA Praiseworthy First Aid Certificate which was awarded to Cadet Sgt Oscar Kohler, this was awarded to him for his actions whilst he dealt with a cyclist who had been knocked off his bike by a car. The second award was the ACFA Meritorious First Aid Certificate that was awarded to Sgt Instructor Keira-Narice Liddington, who, whilst on her way to work came across a car accident where the cars were on fire. A casualty had already been removed from the burning car and Keira treated the casualty for severe burns, in turn saving his life.

Two instructors were presented their cadet force medals which is for 12 years service in the cadet force. These were presented to SSI Dave Moller from Linton detachment and Lt John Kell 3 Company HQ.

The cadet force medal 1st Clasp was awarded to Capt Liz Hyslop for 18 years service within the ACF.

The cadet force medal 2nd Clasp was awarded to SMI Pete Lyddiatt from Wisbech detachment for 24 years service in the ACF.

Finally, there were promotions for Cadet SSgt Sam Kidd to Cadet Sgt Maj followed by adult instructors - PI Jacob Dunn where he was promoted to Sgt on successful completion of his adult training and Lt Heather Bradbury to Capt on successful completion of the new KGVI course.

The evening was a fantastic way to show case what the cadets and instructors can achieve. Well done to everyone who received an award or promotion.